Skip to content



Provincial Parks of New Brunswick



New Brunswick boasts a variety of provincial parks, serving both to conserve nature and to provide recreational opportunities for citizens and tourists.

Although these parks are all on provincially-owned (Crown) land, some are operated by the Department of Tourism, Heritage and Culture, some controlled by the Department of Energy and Resources Development, and some are operated by private companies or communities.  As a result, conditions at these parks vary greatly.


List of Provincial Parks

A navigable map of the province, showing these provincial parks and our protected natural areas, can be found on our Protected Natural Areas page.

Parks operated by the Department of Tourism and Parks are:

  • Murray Beach (map)
  • Hopewell Rocks

Parks privately managed include:

  • Val comeau
  • Oak Bay
  • Saint Croix

Other parks in our province controlled by the Department of Natural Resources (some of which have been closed but remain “on the books”) are:

  • Beechwood
  • Escuminac
  • Glenwood
  • Grand Lake (closed since 2003)
  • Lake George
  • Lakeside
  • Little lake
  • McGraw Brook
  • Middle Island
  • Muniac
  • Neguac-Hay Island
  • Oak Point
  • Parc de l’aboiteau
  • Pokeshaw
  • Sandy Point
  • Sunbury Oromocto
  • Shippagan
  • Tetagouche Falls (closed)
  • The Enclosure
  • Woolastook
  • Youghall Beach
How you can help
  • You can contact your MLA, the premier, or the Minister for Tourism and Parks to let them know how you think the parks should be run.
  • Become a member of CPAWS NB and help us in our work.
  • Become a member of the Friends of Mount Carleton.
  • Become a member of the Friends of Mactaquac Park.
  • If you are concerned about the creation of a snowmobile trail up Mount Carleton, you can sign this petition.